So what’s an “Instructional Technology Coach”?

I’m starting this one-year position of “Instructional Technology Coach” at Horace Greeley High School in the Chappaqua Central School District – then its back to the classroom! So many colleagues and friends have asked me this question, unsure of exactly what I will be doing. So here’s my current definition of Instructional Technology Coach.

First, an instructional tech coach is NOT the person to make hardware repairs or software updates. Or reconnect your computer on the first day of school. (Sorry!) I’m also not going to tell you what tech tools you “should” be using. (That’s up to you. But I can help you reach decisions.)

This photograph is issued to end-user media only. Single use only. Photographs must not be archived or sold on.
(The Official Website of the British Monarchy)

So an instructional technology coach is … a coach. A coach in the other sense of the word: a “vehicle”.

My goal is to help you get to where you want to go. To be sure, I have ideas and suggestions based on my own “travels”. But your journey is bound to be different and unique, as it should be. We are not cogs in a machine, after all. We’re teachers with our own values, goals, and methods.

One more thing for those colleagues who don’t know me. I like technology… OK, I LOVE technology. I have fun with it. I love exploring new tools, trying them out, and incorporating them into my practice – when they make sense with my teaching and learning goals. It doesn’t always work out that way, but I’m OK with trying new things and chucking what doesn’t make sense. Know that most kids are OK with that too. Despite my love affair with technology, I firmly believe that technology should never “wag the dog.” (More on that in a future post.)

So here’s what I hope to do as an instructional technology coach. I’ll get together with you, and maybe another colleague you enjoy working with, or even your whole department if that makes sense. We’ll talk about ideas you have that aren’t fully formed yet, or a project you want to develop, or a project or activity you want to update.

Maybe you need ideas for making an activity more engaging, more student-centered, more significant to students. We’ll brainstorm together. Maybe you already have an idea for learning, or an idea about using some technology  – or maybe both – and need help with implementation. Let’s make it happen!

Maybe you have ideas to bring to the table or maybe you want to start by brainstorming together.  If we come up with an idea or two you like, we’ll meet again and for as long as it takes to make it happen.

Once we’ve figured things out, I can go away or stick around to help get things up and working – before class, during classes and even after classes (maybe you’ll want to adjust or reassess). Your call.

Want to give it a go? You can reach me by email (note the U before the O in Montuori) at ccsd.ws.

Next up: Which came first, the technology or the teacher?

2 thoughts on “So what’s an “Instructional Technology Coach”?

  1. Great ideas!! Best wishes in your new position! Sounds exciting. I’m interested and look forward to learning more about your position!

    Like

    1. Thanks, Melissa! I’m actually close to finishing a second year as a tech coach, and next year I’ll be back to full time teaching. It’s been an amazing experience to work with so many great colleagues. In fact, I think I learned as much from them about teaching as they did from me about teaching with technology. Check out my other posts to learn some of the things I focused on, and watch for a new post that summarizes my experience. Cheers!

      Like

Leave a Reply

